Log in

kentucky State beekeepers association


Log in

Beekeeper of the Year

Each year, KSBA recognizes one of its members as the outstanding Beekeeper of the Year. This award recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to beekeeping, not only locally but also statewide. The recipient is announced at the KSBA Fall General Meeting.

Anyone can make a nomination. To make a nomination, contact an officer of your local bee club. Your club officer will work with you to write the nomination. Your club officer sends the nomination to any member of the KSBA Board of Directors. Each year in the fall, all nominations are reviewed and voted upon by a panel of the past Beekeeper of the Year award winners.

Stay tuned to the KSBA Beelines newsletter and news when we announce this year's call for Beekeeper of the Year nominations.

Past and Present Beekeepers of the Year

KSBA Beekeepers of the Year Past and Present: Dorothey Morgan, Phil Craft, John Benham, Joe Taylor,  Bonnie Joseph, Jessica Mayes, Larry Young and Tammy Horn Potter


2023: Nomination accepted August through September

2022: Jessica Mayes and Bonnie Joseph

2021: Larry Young

2020: Neil Hunt

2019: David Shockey

2018: Dorothey Morgan and Larry Stone

2017: Shannon Trimboli

2016: Jim Hazelrigg. Lifetime Achievement Award to Phil Clark

2015: John Benham

2014: Bud Spath and Harris Overholt

2013: Tana Peers

2012: Kent Williams

2011: Joe Taylor and John Pace. Lifetime Achievement Award to Tammy Horn

2010: Betsy and Paul Stone

2009: Tammy Horn

2008: Phil Craft

2007: Randolph Richards

2006: Gordon Vernon

2005: Pank Mattingly

2004: Kent Williams

2003: Gerald Burchett

2002: Jed Davis

2001: Elsie Miller

2000: George Jones

1999: Doc Stuedle

2022 Beekeeper of the Year Jessica Mayes and Bonnie Joseph

2022 Beekeeper of the Year Jessica Mayes and Bonnie Joseph

2021 Beekeeper of the Year Larry Young

2021 Beekeeper of the Year Larry Young

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software